Resources‎ > ‎

Wisconsin Building Safety Network

The Wisconsin Building Safety Network consists of hundreds of building and fire officials throughout Wisconsin, who work every day to promote safety and health in the built environment.  Working together for over one hundred years, municipal and state officials have coordinated their efforts to effectively and efficiently protect Wisconsin's citizens and visitors.  The involvement of local officials is impressive.
Over 1700 municipalities, including nine counties, administer the State One- and Two-Family Dwelling Code.
More than 860 Fire Departments conduct fire inspections and public education, serving every municipality in Wisconsin.
Seventy-one counties and two cities administer the Wisconsin Code for Private Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems.
Thirty-nine counties are delegated agents for POWTS plan review.
Nineteen counties and four cities are delegated agents for licensing and inspection of Manufactured Home Communities.
Nine cities are delegated agents for plumbing plan review; Appleton, Eau Claire, Green Bay, Janesville, Madison, Milwaukee, Oshkosh, Sheboygan and West Bend.
Two cities; Madison and Milwaukee administer the Wisconsin Elevator Code.
The city of Milwaukee administers the Wisconsin Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.
 The Alliance for Regulatory Coordination applauds this level of local program administration and is committed to guiding, nurturing, protecting and supporting the Wisconsin Building Safety Network.